✓ Prices checked before we publish a deal ✓ Savings backed by real price tracking — no made-up discounts ✓ No paid placement — retailers can't buy a better spot

← Guides

DEWALT vs. BLACK+DECKER Cordless Drill: Which 20V Kit?

Same parent company, same 20V headline, very different buyers. What the listings actually state about brushless motors and battery platforms — with prices we verified ourselves.

Disclosure: DealsActually is reader-supported. The "Check price" links below are affiliate links — if you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices were verified on the dates shown and can change.

The decision problem

These two brands are both owned by Stanley Black & Decker, which is why they share a 20V headline figure and why people assume the difference is only price. It is not. The difference that will still matter in five years is which battery platform you are joining, because every future tool you buy in that brand runs on the packs in this first kit. The second difference is brushless or not. Both are stated on the listings, and both outlive the discount that made you choose.

"20V MAX" is not a performance rating. It is a peak measurement, and both brands use it, so it tells you nothing about which drill is stronger. It does tell you the batteries are not interchangeable between brands.

What the listings actually state

 BLACK+DECKER POWERCONNECT kitDEWALT brushless drill driver setDEWALT drill + impact driver combo
Platform20V MAX POWERCONNECT20V MAX20V MAX
MotorNot stated as brushlessBrushless — statedNot stated as brushless
Tools in the kitDrill driverDrill driverDrill driver + impact driver
Verified priceWe could not verify this price today — tap “Check price” for the current amount.We could not verify this price today — tap “Check price” for the current amount.We could not verify this price today — tap “Check price” for the current amount.
Where to buyCheck B+D priceCheck DEWALT priceCheck combo price

We show a reduction only when Amazon currently displays a reference price above the selling price; "% below the displayed reference price" describes that gap, not a documented price history.

Who should buy which

How to compare these honestly

Our read

For occasional household jobs the BLACK+DECKER kit is the honest answer and the cheapest way to own a drill that works. For anyone who will still be using it in five years, the brushless DEWALT is the better buy — not because of the badge, but because brushless and a platform worth growing into are the two things you cannot add later. Our cordless drill buying guide covers chuck sizes and torque settings in more depth.

Limitations & alternatives

We have not bench-tested torque, runtime or durability, and we state only what the listings state. Figures such as torque and battery amp-hours vary between kit variants sold under very similar names, so check the specific listing you are buying rather than trusting any comparison — including this one — to have matched the variant.

Full details and current availability: the BLACK+DECKER POWERCONNECT kit, the DEWALT brushless set and the DEWALT combo kit.

See more tool deals we've checked

Verified tool offers in one place.

Browse tool deals →

Related guides

Some links here are affiliate links — if you sign up we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend.